I sorted through the Top 50 Social Media Fitness Bloggers today.  The plan was to figure out what similarities I could find based on several categories about their education, the length of each writing, their writing frequency, and what type of information they included in the writing.


 

After I went through the first 15, I noticed several obvious similarities.

 

1. Every author is in shape and has a picture of themselves showing enough of them to display their physique (whether that was shirtless or just sleeveless).

2. They all used a lot of pictures.

3. They all had products to sell.

4. 80% (12) consistently wrote articles that looked like they were at least 1,000 words.

 

 

From these findings, it seems like we’ll have to change our blog in a few ways.

 

1. We have to get in photo-shape if we’re planning on doing anything.

2. We’ll have to write longer articles.

3. We’ll have to include several pictures in each article.

 

 

Thankfully, their posting frequency wasn’t very high.  A couple of them wrote articles almost daily, but most of them just wrote around two a week.

The main question is, “Do we want to do this?”  Initially, I was thrown off by my findings there because I’d largely been attempting to emulate a few of the most successful blogs (most notably zenhabits and dooce).  I thought the fitness blogs would be doing things largely how the biggest blogs do.  Well, I was wrong, and that confused me.

It still does.  I don’t know what on earth I should do.  However, I know that I need to adopt some level of what these homies do… the only problem is that there are already a ton of people successfully blogging in the area.  I need to be different.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Heart Health vs. The Biceps

The fitness side of the coin is needed, but I feel like it’s over-stated.  A lot of people just want to get the guy/girl of their dreams, and they think they need to have a fit body to do so.  I’m cool with that to a degree.  I think the external appearance is a great benefit of living a healthy lifestyle.  However, I would adamantly voice my opinion against anyone who claimed that it was the greatest benefit.

In my opinion, the greatest benefit is not dying of a heart attack when you’re 40.  The greatest benefit is not having to take insulin shots your whole life.  The greatest benefit is the health side of “health and fitness”.  What’s the use of being able to squat 1,000lbs, run a 4:00 mile, and do a thousand push-ups in a row if you’re about to go into cardiac arrest at any moment?  I simply don’t understand the over-emphasis on the fitness side of things.

It seems as though there’s a large dichotomy in the “health and fitness” field between health and fitness.  On the health side, you have a bunch of doctors, physical therapists, and dietitians who want to keep people from dying.  On the fitness side, you have a bunch of people who just want to be able to lift a lot of weight/run really fast/do cool stunts/etc.

Personally, I’m somewhere in the middle.  I want to be big and strong, but I don’t care about being big and strong if I can’t climb up three flights of stairs without getting winded.  Yes, I’ve been there.  I was 210lbs during my study abroad semester in Cyprus.  I could bench and deadlift a ton, but I hated climbing the stairs to get to my apartment.  I was always sucking wind by the end of it.

Now, I’m not as strong as I used to be.  I’m nowhere near it.  I’ve taken some major detours on my own road to health and fitness, but I feel a lot better now that I’m focusing on health first.  I’m pushing back up to my prior strength levels now, but I’m only going to do it within the constraints of the first priority of health.  You die of a weak heart, not a weak bicep.

 

 

The New Direction

I’m going to keep my workout log up.  Frankly, I largely write it for my own benefit.  If I have to sit down and analyze everything I write in my workout journal, it keeps everything in the front of my mind.  By doing that, I make less mistakes.

In addition, I found one very interesting thing while looking through the websites.  Nobody’s really using the textbooks.  Everyone just says stuff without necessarily having a backing source.  I’m guilty of this as well.  I’ve been taking what I know from the textbooks and repeating it in my own words, but I haven’t been citing my sources well.

What I want to do is an idea I had around two years ago.  I wanted to create a site where the public has access to the key nuggets of information they need to know from textbooks without all the extra fluff.  While that general idea has been the driving force behind this site, I haven’t made it blatant enough.

From now on, for better or for worse, I’m going to simply be an editor.  For articles, my own thoughts will be largely irrelevant.  I’ll still have a place for my own creativity in the workout log, but the articles will answer common questions through a series of direct quotations from textbooks.  I’ll cite which textbook it came from, and you’ll get to see the most pertinent information on each issue.

As a result of that, you won’t just be reading my thoughts.  I’m fairly well-educated in the health and fitness field, but my brain simply doesn’t compare to these textbooks with brilliant PhD authors and tens of reviewers.  There’s no contest, and I’d rather make this blog focused on spotlighting the most intelligent words we have access to.

 

 

Thanks

Thanks to all of you who read faithfully.  I sincerely appreciate you guys stopping by all the time to give us some views.  We’ve done much better than we realized was possible, but we’ve stalled out and started back-tracking some the last three weeks.  I’ve been putting in just as much time, and our subscriber count has doubled.  We just aren’t getting new views, though.

We’ll try out the new format for a while.  Please let us know what you think (whether it’s positive or negative feedback).  If it’s negative, please make it constructive by giving thoughts on ways to make the negative into a positive.

Alright, tally-ho, dear readers.  I’m looking forward to the shift, and we’ll see how it goes.  In a day or two, we’ll have a write-up that’s a little over a thousand words, with multiple pictures, and lots of direct quotations from textbooks. 🙂

