Lisa and I went on a long bike ride yesterday to Delray Beach and back.  By long, I mean 9 miles each way.  I’m not absolutely sure why this was hard for me.  We used to do 30-mile bike rides fairly easily.

I think it had something to do with the wind in our faces, the backpack full of glass tupperware on my back, the high heat, the excessive humidity, my uncomfortable seat (if you’re a dude, you know what I mean), and the fact that the backpack straps are positioned in such a way that my hands would go numb after about two miles.

It was hard.  We had fun once at Delray Beach, but the ride back especially was not fun for me.  Lisa had fun, though.  She wasn’t even tired… Cardio freak.  🙂


1.  Warm-Up

2.  Barbell Power Cleans
Goal:  145 x 3.
Actual:  135 x 3.  145 x 3.  155 x 3.

3.  Barbell Front Squats
Goal: 210 x 3.
Actual:  210 x 5.  215 x 3.

4.  Barbell Back Squats
Goal:  245 x 3.
Actual:  245 x 5.  255 x 5.

5.  Barbell Romanian Deadlifts (aka “Stiff-legged Deadlifts”)
Goal:  255 x 3.
Actual:  255 x 5.  265 x 6.

6.  Single-Legged Dumbbell Rear-Foot-Elevated Carry Squat
Goal:  80s x 4.
Actual:  75s x 5.  80s x 4.

7.  Single-Legged Dumbbell Rear-Foot-Elevated Rack Squat
Goal:  70s x 5.
Actual:  70s x 4.  70s x 5.

8.  Barbell Single-Legged Romanian Deadlifts
Goal:  80 x 3.
Actual:  80 x 4.  80 x 5.

9.  Cool-Down

10.  Eat carbs

Notes:

I changed the cleans to power cleans.  In the power clean, you don’t drop down into a squat position as you catch the weight.  I liked this a lot more.

Overall, the workout was some great progress!  I’m glad the science is working… not that I should be surprised that peer-reviewed research is, in fact, true.  I guess it’s just nice to overcome some level of fear due to uncertainty although there was really no true reason for that fear in the first place.

