I’m sore.  Really sore.  Good thing my legs get two days of rest now before my next workout that involves them.  I did some work on my make-shift (sidewalk chalk) agility ladder and then did my sprints.  Good times!

1.  Warm-Up

2.  Agility Ladder- Straight forward.  I focused on high knees and rapid steps.  I went to one end and back five times.

3.  Agility Ladder – Carioca side-to-side.  Despite previously thinking that this was called “karaoke”, I have since learned that it is not named after lightly buzzed people singing “Don’t Stop Believing” in a bar.  It is actually named after the lively ballroom dance that resembles the samba.  Cool.

Regardless, I’m slowly getting better at this as I develop the coordination/flexibility to do it.  I didn’t realize just how tight my hips were until I started this.  I went to my right ten times, and I went to my left ten times.

4.  Sprint/walk intervals.  30yards, 60 yards, and 90 yards.  My right hamstring started giving me little warning signs about ten minutes in.  So, I slowed down to about 90% of my maximum effort and focused on high knees and “pawing” at the ground.  Just running form technique.

5.  Cool-down.

6.  Eat some carbs.

Notes:

Felt good.  The hamstring is nothing to worry about.  I just had to take it into consideration so that I ward off long-term injury.

On the other hand, I’m incredibly sore right now.  I was sore before this from my leg workout yesterday, but now after today’s workout I’m really sore.

