For the last two months, I’ve been experimenting with full-body workouts.  I mainly did so because it makes so much sense.  We rarely use the body just one part at a time, so it makes sense to me that working out the whole body at once would be the best way to exercise.  That still sounds rational to me, and someday I’ll probably try it again but have it slightly modified.

But as for now, I’m going back to what I know has worked for me in the past.  In all honesty, I’m fairly irritated at losing muscle mass, so this change is largely the product of frustration.

Anyway, the new plan involves two days of upper body and two days of lower body.  I’ve seen a lot of people get good results with it, and it’s also what the NSCA (National Strength and Conditioning Association) has as their “sample hypertrophy workout” in their huge book “NSCA’s Essentials of Personal Training”.  I’m not doing their program exactly, but it’s pretty close to the same idea.

Day 1:  Heavy Legs
Day 2:  Runnin’ and Jumpin’ (my addition)
Day 3:  Heavy Upper Body
Day 4:  Higher-Rep Legs
Day 5:  Higher-Rep Upper Body
Day 6:  Runnin’ and Jumpin’ (my addition)
Day 7:  Rest

I’m still incorporating some more “functional” type of stuff like single-legged work, plyometrics, single-arm work, and functional core work.  It’ll be fun.  Well, at least today was fun.  🙂

1.  Warm up and all that.  Also, I always do one or two warm-up sets before each individual exercise as well.  They’re usually around 50 – 75% of whatever my first working set will be.

2.  Barbell Power Cleans
Goal:  165 x 3.
Actual:   165 x 3.  170 x 3.  175 x 1.

3.  Barbell Front Squats
Goal:  235 x 5.
Actual:  235 x 2.  225 x 5.  225 x 3.

4.  Single-Legged Dumbbell Carry Position Rear-Foot-Elevated Squats
Goal:  55lb DBs x 5.
Actual:  55lbs x 5.  60lbs x 5.  65lbs x 5.

5.   Single-Legged Dumbbell Rack Position Rear-Foot-Elevated Squats
Goal:  50lb DBs x 5.
Actual:  50lbs x 5.  55lbs x 5.  60lbs x 3.

6.  Single-Legged Barbell Romanian Deadlifts
Goal:  65 x 5.
Actual:  65 x 4.  65 x 5.  70 x 3.

Notes:  The front squats were a little disappointing, but it’s ok.  I haven’t done them following cleans before.  Those cleans wore me out.

Also, single-legged Romanian Deadlifts are tough!  My left leg is a lot weaker than my right on this.  I wonder if that’s also the cause of my intermittent lower-back pain on my left side.  It makes sense to me that if my left hip is weaker, then my lower back would have to step in to pick up the slack.  Regardless, despite the harassment of my friend James at the gym (who’s a giant dude who can bench 420.  Super cool.), I still go on with my meager 70lb deadlifts in order to hopefully correct strength imbalances for functional fitness.

Anyway, I’m going to experiment with this workout plan for at least four weeks.  We’ll see how the muscle gain and fat loss goes with it.

