I worked out today, and it felt great.  However, it’s hard for me to celebrate because Lisa tested my body fat yesterday, and we found out that I lost two pounds of muscle mass.  I lost two pounds of muscle the previous month, too.  So, I’m four pounds of muscle less than I was two months ago.  Great.  Everything I preach about health and fitness involves gaining muscle mass, but I’m here losing it.

I know what I’m doing wrong now.  There are two types of hypertrophy (muscle building).  In one, you build up thicker muscle fibers themselves.  In the other, you build up more fluid around the muscle fibers so that the muscle fibers have access to more energy for longer work periods.

So, if you do powerlifting sets where you’re doing five reps or less, you’ll build up thicker muscle fibers.  If you’re doing bodybuilding sets with 8 to 12 reps, then you’ll build up more fluid within the muscle.  The ideal situation is where you do both powerlifting and bodybuilding if you want to get more muscle mass.

I focused way too much on heavy, low-rep lifting, and now I’m paying for it.  Muscle loss.

Well, all I can do now is learn from my failure and react to it accordingly.  I’m going to try a lot harder to give the higher rep sets their fair share of sets.

On every other front, I feel great.  My resting heart rate is around 52, which is pretty good for me.  It shows that my minimalist cardio is working pretty well.  Also, every activity of daily living is pretty much effortless.  Well, everything except for double-stepping up three flights of stairs while carrying three giant recyclable bags of groceries.  I got a little winded on that one.  Ha.

Anyway, on Monday I’ll have a better plan for building back my lost muscle mass.  It should be a good one.  Trying to design my own workout philosophy is incredibly difficult, though.  I constantly take two steps forward and one step back.  Oh well, that’s life.  Just keep moving forward.

Then again, if I can’t get this change to work, and I lose more muscle mass, I may have to overhaul this whole exercise philosophy.  I would hate that, but I’m also very strongly opinionated when it comes to protecting truth.  If something doesn’t work, then I’ll admit it and move on.  I’ll never deceive someone into believing something just because it soothes my ego or my business’s bottom line.

