Well, this is nowhere near my first day of exercising.  I’ve been doing that since I was around 16.  However, I’ve wanted to keep a workout log on the internet for myself and for readers.  I had been pretty apprehensive about it because my workouts sometimes become absurdly complex.

But now, I’m coming to a state of wanting to share what I’m up to each day just to show all of the little ups and downs that come with a workout program.  It’s not all sugarplums and rainbows, but it can be really fun.

Also, this is something of my attempt to show some samples of the workout philosophy that I’m putting together for the book I’m writing.  The original intent of the book was to make it directed towards military personnel.  While I still want that to be the main thrust, I’m designing the philosophy so that it can be applied to practically anyone (after they’ve received medical clearance as they should before starting any workout program).

Ok.  Enough of that.  Today’s workout was mobility and speed training:

1.  Warm-Up

2.  Dot Drills – My gym has a big parking lot in front of it.  I used some sidewalk chalk and a ruler to draw a 2ft. x 2ft. box with a mark in the middle as well.  Then, I just more or less exercised some creativity in sequencing two-legged and single-legged jumps from mark to mark.  The point is to jump in a bunch of different directions in order to train your body to move in a bunch of different directions.

To make it easier: Just step onto each mark rather than jumping.
To make it harder: Make up more complex patterns… Or do back-flips.  Ha ha.

3.  Skate Jumps – In these, you just jump from side to side (no forward or backward landing at all).  I used one of the parking space divider lines to make sure I jumped from left to right on top of it.  When you jump to your left, you land with your left foot.  When you jump to your right, you land with your right foot.  Be sure to jump with only the foot you land on as well.  I did four sets of ten total jumps.

To make it easier: Take an extra-wide step to the side rather than jumping.
To make it harder: Jump as far as you can.

4.  Sprinting Intervals – I sprinted about 100 yards and then walked back to where I started the sprint.  I did that five times.  I would have gone longer, but I started having a little pain in my hamstrings (biceps femoris to be exact.  Thanks to John for making me think about which parts of the hamstring attach where).  The hamstring pain has happened before.  It’s not bad, but I’ll be sure to treat it with care for a while.

To make it easier: Walk fast, jog, or light run the 100 yards rather than sprinting.  Keep the walk back, though.
To make it harder: Focus on sprinting even faster.  Research sprinting technique.  Get your knees up.

5.  Cool-Down

The whole thing only took about thirty minutes.  Not too bad.  Also, I’m out there getting some Vitamin D from the sunlight.  Osteoporosis doesn’t stand a chance.  🙂

