In the fitness realm, a lot of people ask about exercises and programs, but the question most people are curious about is diet.  I’m sorry to say that a lot of the fad diets out there don’t really work and most are just out to get your money.  When giving nutrition advice, I like to focus on eating more fruits and vegetables.  Think of the colors of the food.  The colors of the food are the paints in which you are painting your life.

The pictures that most likely catch our eyes are the ones that have lots of color and are bright.  I love painting and when I paint, I love to use many different colors and very bright colors too.   When I have finished my painting, I look down and my palette is full of vibrant colors.   This is how our plates should look.  At the end of the day, we should be able to look at all of the things we’ve eaten and see a variety of colors.  The more colors you use, the more bright and happy the picture will be.  If you are eating the same brown, dull things everyday, then your pictures are going to look very dull and boring.  I also want to add that these should be natural colors, not the dyes used to dye the icing on your cake or cookies.  If you want to have an exciting, energetic day, then paint your day with the colors of fruits and vegetables.  Your plate is the palette in which you are painting your life.  The more colors you have, the more vitamins and nutrients you are getting throughout the day.  Also, when you eat more fruits and veggies, it causes you to be more creative.  You begin mixing flavors and trying new things.  My husband likes to poke fun at me when I say that my plate is pretty because of all the colors on it.

This is the diet I would give to you.  I wouldn’t quite call it a diet but just a lifestyle change.  The more fruits and vegetables you eat, the less room you have for all of the other things that are hindering you from your health and fitness goals.   I literally want you to taste the rainbow, but not the candies of course.

RED: apples, red peppers, raspberries, tomatoes, beets, strawberries
ORANGE: butternut squash, oranges, orange peppers, nectarines, peaches
YELLOW: spaghetti squash, yellow squash, lemons, yellow tomatoes
GREEN: broccoli, spinach, zucchini, green grapes, kale, pears, brussel sprouts, kiwi
BLUE: blueberries
INDIGO: artichokes, I couldn’t find any others, so this will have to do :).  If anyone finds more, feel free to let me know
VIOLET:  grapes, eggplant, cabbage, blackberries, plums, red onions

