Well, I’m finally getting back into traditional cardiovascular training again.  Before, I had just been focused on extremely short, extremely intense conditioning.  So, I’d do something like thirty burpee pullups.  I do several different exercises like that, and they all take around three minutes.  I largely did them to avoid running.  Without any type of cardio, my resting heart rate can get up to around 70 beats per minute.  With running, I’ve gotten it down to around 48.  With just my current three to four minute bursts of activity, I’ve gotten it down to 55.  Since Lisa worries about me when it’s above 60, I’m happy that my little three-minute conditioning sessions get me to 55.  Ha.

But now I’m in a position where I’m starting to get back into running shape for the sake of aerobic endurance rather than simply to keep my resting heart rate low.  I’m writing about physical training for the military, and in order to write it I want to be currently going through what I’m going to ask them to go through.  That means being able to run two miles quickly.

I tested out my mile yesterday on the treadmill.  Although the treadmill is a little different than running in real life, it’s my current measure for how I’m starting.  Anyway, I did the mile in ten minutes.  I guess my quick bursts of power-endurance work didn’t translate into actual aerobic capacity.  I used to run a mile in 5:12.

Throughout this time, I’ll be experimenting to see what’s the least amount of mileage I can get away with to have maximum effect on my aerobic endurance.  I’m hoping that I’ll be able to optimize my running performance without running over fifteen miles a week.  If I can pull that off, then that means it will be a major joint saver for any overuse injuries that soldiers may incur from a ton of running.  Not to mention the fact that it will be more time-efficient.

The hypothesis is that if I optimize my lactic threshold (my body’s ability to use mainly fat as fuel) through using interval training, I shouldn’t have to run much farther than two or three miles at a time in my training in order to prepare my body for 30 mile hikes with 65lbs on my back and a 20lb weapon in my arms.  Another benefit of the interval training will be better sprint performance for any short bursts of speed soldiers would need.

Regardless, ten minutes is my initial mile time.  I’m going to get that down to about six minutes so that I can break the thirteen minute two-mile time that gets a 100% for Army Physical Fitness Testing.  It will be hard, but it will be fun now that I have a goal to shoot for.

