Steve Cook. IFBB Men's Physique Competitor

I’ve been thinking a lot recently about what the heck my goals are.  For my next long-term goal, I want to look like this guy:

He’s 6’1”, and he weighed 205lbs with 4% bodyfat when the picture of him was taken that I thought was awesome.  Frankly, I don’t want to be 4% body fat.  I’ve gotten down to 4.8%, and it’s not much fun.  Now, I want to figure out how his lean body mass compares to mine adjusted for our height difference.

First, I need to adjust for his height since I’m only 5’10”.  I need to account for the weight of three extra inches.  From what I’ve read, there’s no clear way to determine exactly how much weight each inch should account for.  I’ve heard anywhere from 5lbs to 10lbs.  I’ll go with the conservative aim of 5lbs.

So, 205lbs – (5lbs x 3inches difference) = 190lbs.  That’s what my weight would have to be if I were to look like his picture at my height.

And that is just his total weight, but he had 4% body fat which means that 96% of his body weight was lean.  So, in order to get to his amounts of lean mass and fat mass, I would have to calculate (190 * 4%) = 7.6lbs of fat and (190 * 96%) = 182.4lbs of lean mass.

I’m currently sitting at 16.9lbs of fat and 172.9lbs of lean mass.  I weigh 190 with 8.9% body fat.

Although Steve was at 4% body fat, I want to be around 6% or 7%.  It’s easier to sit around that level.  I’ll shoot for 7% first and see how I like that.  So, that means that I need to figure out my target weight with my desired 182.4lbs of lean mass (well, let’s round up to 183lbs just for kicks and giggles).

In order to do that, I’ll use some math.  My total lean body mass divided by my desired percentage of lean body mass will show me how many pounds I need to be.

183 / 0.93 = 197lbs of total body weight

So, that’s what I’m shooting for.

Bodyweight of 197lbs
Percent body fat of 7%
Lean body mass of 183lbs
Fat mass of 14lbs

What do I need to do?

I need to gain 10lbs of muscle and lose 3lbs of fat.

My plan?

I’m going to break everything down into 4-week cycles.  For three of those weeks, I’ll gain a pound.  However, on the fourth week, I’ll lose a pound.  This will be to take advantage of my hormones that increase my metabolic rate when I eat more so that I can lose the fat easier.

So, I’m going to proceed with those four-week cycles until either they stop working or I think of something better.  It’ll probably take me a year at least to hit my long-term goal.  Oh well.  Rome wasn’t built in a day either.

I’ll keep things entertaining for myself by shooting for weight lifting goals.  It’ll be fun.  🙂

